Skip to product information
1 of 4

The Standing Rabbit

The Wide Net and Other Stories by Eudora Welty

The Wide Net and Other Stories by Eudora Welty

Regular price $ 8.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 8.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Wide Net and Other Stories by Eudora Welty is a 214-page softcover, a Harvest/HBJ Book, published by Harcourt Brace Jovanocich, first published in 1941, this copy published in 1971.  There is slight sun fading to the spine.  Inside, the pages are clean and unmarked.  The condition is very good.

Book Summary

These eight stories reveal the singular imaginative power of one of America's most admired writers.  Set in the region of the Old Natchez Trace along the lower Mississippi, the stories dip in and out of history and range from virgin wilderness to a bar in New Orleans.

"First Love" is the sensitive tale of a boot-boy in the year 1807--deaf, orphaned, alone, until he is touched by the remarkable presence of a man accused of treason, Aaron Burr.  A skittish pregnant wife and a young husband who has stayed out all night motivate the charming, dreamlike title story.  In "Asphodel,' classic legend is ingeniously re-created in the Old South.  "A Still Moment" captures a metaphysical instant in the chance meeting of an evangelist, an outlaw, and John James Audubon.  In each of the other stories--"The Winds," "The Purple Hat," "Livvie," and "At the Landing"--Miss Welty sustains the high level of performance that, throughout her distinguished career, has won her numerous literary awards, including the Howells Medal of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a Pulitzer Prize. 

ISBN:  0-15-696610-7

View full details