Skip to product information
1 of 5

The Standing Rabbit

The Last Pirate: A Father, His Son, and the Golden Age of Marijuana by Tony Dokoupil

The Last Pirate: A Father, His Son, and the Golden Age of Marijuana by Tony Dokoupil

Regular price $ 12.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 12.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Last Pirate:  A Father, His Son, and the Golden Age of Marijuana by Tony Dokoupil is a 252-page hardcover published in 2014 by Doubleday, and is a stated first edition.  There's some light surface rubbing to the dust jacket.  Inside, the pages are clean and unmarked and the binding is tight. 

Book Summary

In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, The Last Pirate is a vivid, haunting, and often hilarious memoir recounting the life of Big Tony, a family man who joining the largest pot ring of the Regan era and exploded his life in the process.  Three decades later, his son set out to pick up the pieces.

As he relates his father's rise from hey-man hippie dealer to multi-ton smuggler extraordinaire, Tony Dokoupil tells the larger history of marijuana and untangles the controversies still stirring furious debate today.  He blends superb reportage with searing personal memories, presenting a probing chronicle of pot-smoking, drug-taking America from the perspective of the generation that grew up in the aftermath of the Great Stoned Age.  The Last Pirate is a cultural portrait of marijuana's endless allure set against the Technicolor backdrop of South Florida in the era of Miami Vice. 

ISBN:  978-0-385-53346-1

View full details