Skip to product information
1 of 5

The Standing Rabbit

The Danzig Trilogy by Gunter Grass

The Danzig Trilogy by Gunter Grass

Regular price $ 14.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $ 14.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Danzig Trilogy by Gunter Grass is a 1030-page hardcover published in 1987 by MJF Books.  Shelf wear and a closed tear down the flap of the dust jacket.  Inside, pages are clean and binding is tight.

Book Summary

With the 1959 publication of his first novel, The Tin Drum, Gunter Grass won instant international acclaim--and aroused instant controversy in Germany.  The book's brilliantly inventive mix of fantasy and reality painted unforgettable images of the Nazi era--images that at the time most of Germany did not want to confront.  No one could deny, however, the power, humor, and fascination of his writing as literature.

The Tin Drum's hero Oscar Matzerath is a child when Nazis gain control of Germany.  Unlike his creator, he is able to stay a child--at least physically.  At age three, Oskar wills himself to stop growing and starts pretending that his already mature mind is retarded.  The magic that surrounds him whenever he plays his tin drum allows him to witness events he is not present at.  What follows is a fantasia of horror, humor, poetry, and earthiness, a voyage through the world of the Nazi Reich and beyond.

The Tin Drum was followed two years later by Cat and Mouse, and two years after that by Dog Years.  Critics and readers recognized the thematic and stylistic similarities between them.  Because all are set, at least in part, in Danzig, they became known as "The Danzig Trilogy."

View full details